Breakfast

As I have said before I am really not all that into cooking. I love to bake, but actually cooking is not something I LOVE to do. I don’t know how it is different, but it is. I always told my husband before we married that if he wanted me to cook, I only cook two things: fried chicken and breakfast. Since then, I have learned more recipes and I am kinda starting to enjoy branching out my cooking abilities a little more. Anyway, I love cooking breakfast. Specifically: BISCUITS. My grandmother taught me how to make biscuits. There is a super special secret. You don’t just throw the ingredients in a bowl and hope it all works out. Last week I woke up early and decided to cook some biscuits for my Hubs before he took off to school. I haven’t made them in a while so I did end up cutting them too small, but they still tasted delish!

You need:

2 cups all purpose flour

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp of salt

1/3 cup shortening

3/4 cup milk

In mixing bowl stir together flour, baking powder, and salt.

Hard to explain fully but add the shortening, using a fork you cut it into the flour mixture until it resembles crumbs.

Make a well in the center of the mixture and add the milk all at once.

Stir until just moistened and dough begins to pull away from the sides of the bowl.

On a floured surface kneed dough with floured hands for 30 seconds or until smooth.

Roll dough out to a 3/4inch thickness.

Cut dough with a 2 and 1/2 inch cutter. (I should have used a bigger cutter)

On a lightly greased baking sheet place biscuits close together.

This one recipe says to cook them on 475 degrees for 11-15 minutes but my biscuits were a little crispier than I planned so you make lower the degrees and lengthen the time spent in the oven.

For brown fluffy biscuits brush the tops with soft margarine before putting them in to bake.

Enjoyyy!

Leave a Reply

