Bye Bye Mizuno, Hello Brooks!

I just can’t tell you how excited I am right now. Today has already been the best day in a long time. I woke up early this morning to some cute little snow flurries and felt an arctic blasts blow through the door when I exited the apartment. Today, I was going to return my Wave Rider 15’s. Yep, I pretty much hated them, and so did my feet, and so did my knees. Not to mention they felt like bricks-no movement at all. I’m not trying to hate. What works for one person does not work for another. I will say I was intrigue by them. It was a neutral shoe with a wicked color scheme and they happened to be related to my FAVORITE volleyball shoe that I ever wore.  When I say favorite – I mean I still have them, torn, muddy, and heavily worn. I headed off  to my parents house to dig out the receipt from Dicks Sporting Goods. It was a nice morning drive and I even ran into a mini snow shower on my way over.

Yeah, that right there is a good ol’ Georgia snow shower. Its about as much as we’ll get here this year.

I only took a ZILLION pictures but I won’t bore you with each one or commentary to go along with them.

I headed to Dicks and explained to the girl my displeasure with the shoe and she gladly took them back and handed over my money. People, don’t waste your money on running shoes until you are dang sure you want to buy them. I looked up the closest store who does a fitting process for running shoes. I found a Big Peach Running Company and headed to the nearest store in Kennesaw.

First they checked out my arch type and foot width.

On the screen: See the blue area mid foot on this guy? I have SUCH high arches there wasn’t even a DASH of color between the front of my foot and my heel. My. feet. are. RIDICULOUS.

Then they gave me a neutral pair of shoes and performed a video gait analysis as I ran on the treadmill. Turns out I have pretty neutral pronation with a tendency to over pronate only slightly and my weird right foot tends to kick outward a little retardly when I run (awesome…). Also, for some reason they tell you to buy one size up from your normal shoe size… I have yet to figure out why but I guess we’ll see come time to run with them on.

Then they bombarded me with all types of shoes and the lady helping me watched me run in every pair. The Asics Nimbus 13 was my absolute favorite but unfortunately about 30 dollars over my budget. So, I settled with my second favorite: the Brooks Ravenna 2 which was awarded with the Editors Choice Award at Runners World (so I can’t complain too much).

This was a free shoe fitting and the people that helped were extremely nice and knowledgeable. I can’t wait to try these babies out for a long run. They have gotten fabulous reviews and even though its freezing outside and my knee still feels pretty injured, I CANNOT wait to try them.

I will have an Indoor Track in 5 days!!!!!!! I CAN’T WAIT TO MOVE.

Happy Shoe Shopping!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Bye Bye Mizuno, Hello Brooks!

  1. Ok so I’m glad someone else was having a problem with the new Mizuno’s. Mine about 15 miles on them and they still aren’t broken in. I can’t stand them.

Leave a Reply

