The “New” girl

As you all know I finally got a job and I started on Monday. Blog posting will probably only happen on Thursdays from now on. I am a coffee in hand, morning writer and I just don’t have enough time in the morning to write before I go work a 10 hour day. The hours are bittersweet. It awesome to get 40 hours out of the way and I will only work every other Saturday so that’s also awesome. However, 10 hour days 3 days in a row are so killer. I am lucky my off day is Thursday so I get a little break in between. Also, when I end up working Saturday then I will have Thursday off and then a half day Friday and a half day Saturday. This week I have one more 10 hour day left (tomorrow). I can tell you it has been hard to adjust. 5:45 comes too early every morning. I have been getting in bed at 9:30 and it still doesn’t make it any easier. I still have some adjusting to do. Not to mention still learning the job. Its a lot more difficult than it sounds. At the Animal Hospital they do grooming, boarding, drop off (for vaccs and exams), and then also regular appointments if you want to stay with your pet for Vaccs and the exam, also they take emergencies. All of them have different ways of checking in and I am still trying to learn them all. And that is just checking in. I also have to learn about the vaccines given and the medicines prescribed. I guess the coolest part is that I get to watch surgeries and look at x-rays. I’ll be glad when I am not the new girl anymore. I have to say I miss training and HR work. You just don’t know you love something until you aren’t doing it anymore.

As far as running goes I finally get to start back in 4 days. I can’t wait. I guess I will be taking it slow, though. I have been doing the elliptical and I have tried the bike but the bike hurts my knees. I can’t wait to get back to running. We’ll see how it goes Monday πŸ™‚

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

