You Can Find Me in St. Louis

I never saw myself leaving Atlanta. In fact, I’m as Atlanta proud as they come. I have lived here all my life. I have a LOVE AFFAIR with this city. Host of the 1996 Olympics, residence of Greg Maddux, David Justice, Javy Lopez and the rest of the 1995 World Series winning Braves, home of the Falcons, the Hawks, Georgia Tech, Dragon*Con, King of Pops, beautiful mountainous regions just north….so on and so forth. I always imagined my life here in Atlanta with a nice, well-sized house in the suburbs (or Virginia Highlands) with my perfect children, and my 9-5 working husband. I can totally see myself in a 50’s dress holding a freshly baked pie as he walks in the door and kisses me dearly. Sad, I know… too much Leave it to Beaver I guess. I suppose it just never occurred to me that my life could be, would be turned around and flipped upside down.

When Daniel first told me his best career path was probably going to be in St. Louis the only thing that came to my mind was that horrid Nelly song in which their lives consist of shooting people, smoking dope, dealing drugs, and/or living off welfare… etc., etc. (good thing I have a few options when it comes to what I can do with my career when we move) HAHA definitely kidding! I’ve honestly never heard too many positive things about St. Louis. So, I began doing my own research. I spoke with people who have been there, lived there, had friends that lived/live there and I actually became curious. It really didn’t seem that bad, it was actually intriguing. Like the forbidden fruit of my life. Daniel’s offers began to roll in. Most of the offers he received in Atlanta were no where near as awesome as the out of town offers he was given. He had a couple of other choices in states like California and Texas that we ended up turning down for various reasons. Apparently, St. Louis still held the key to unlock the door to Daniel’s best career path. Decision making unfortunately came down to the wire on my Birthday.

We were sitting at the sushi bar at Benihana. Sipping green tea and debating our options while stuffing ourselves with my favorite sushi. I’d have to say it was the most exciting and most depressing birthday of my life (Happy 25th Birthday Kelly! You have the joy of leaving all your family and friends behind!!!!). In the moment I was excited, high-fiving Daniel as we made the decision to go to St. Louis. As we begin to prepare for our departure in 8 short weeks, I find more reasons to go, followed by more reasons why I wish we would stay. As it is all happening, I am beginning to realize that this conflict in my head is going to be a never ending battle. Stay, Go, Stay, Go will always haunt me. I am very excited that my little comfort space of Atlanta has been shaken and that now I have to take off and soar. I need to see what this world has to offer me. Maybe I will miss home, but maybe I will also become great.

3 thoughts on “You Can Find Me in St. Louis

  1. I promise Saint Louis is a FANTASTIC place to live. There are some adorable neighborhoods and very good food and charming restaurants and bars. A few great Sushi places too!! I have been here for a little over two years and I turning 25 in the next year… I promise you will find lots to love here!! Check out the my neighborhood in Demun it doesn’t get better than that or Central West End (you’ll learn quickly STL has many many neighborhoods)!

    • Thank you so much! We will be visiting end of November and we will definitely be checking those places out! We are looking for an area we can meet people/young couples our age so we can make some friends! Your blog is awesome by the way! Your help is very much appreciated!

  2. I’m going to miss you guys, even though I have seen you all of twice in the last three or four years… But still! I am so excited for you both! I think you’ll be very happy and have a lot of opportunities for growth. 🙂 I’m excited to read about the whole process. Let’s do a double date before you leave, if you have the time. ❤ I'll be thinking of and praying for you guys!

Leave a Reply

