Soon-to-be Arch City Girl

Since I have written about what I am afraid of when it comes to moving, I thought I would give you a run down on the good thoughts. Today, I am having a peculiarly good day with thoughts of moving to St. Louis. As we were putting up the Christmas tree today I thought of all of how lucky I am to have a family so close and so completely everything to me. I love them so much it hurts. I then realized that even though it is big and scary, this is my chance to stand on my own two feet (with my husband holding me up ;)). I am already proud of my parents for letting me go, make my own mistakes, learn my own lessons, make my own decisions, speak for myself, and struggle a little bit as an adult (as I hope most parents do with their children). Moving, I believe, the ultimate step towards adulthood. I have free range to this new city and new people.

I get a clean slate.

I get to meet people who don’t know anything about my past. I will meet people who know nothing about who I was when I was in elementary school, middle school, or high school. I will meet people who will know me for who I am now and who I can be in the future. I think its awesome to know and stay in touch with my friends from earlier times in my life, but I also think it’ll be neat to meet people who know nothing about me at first! To me, thats pretty cool. The rest is still unwritten.

I have a whole new world to discover.

Atlanta is hands down the best city in the world (to me) and always will be, but with St. Louis as my new playground, I have an entire new area to explore and call my own once I get acclimated. New hot spots to discover, new neighboring states to visit, new farmers markets to hop on Saturdays. This is going to be educational.

I will have a chance to break away.

I will have the ability to say that I lived in a different state. Even if we come back in 6 months (which is unlikely) I will have lived in a different state, learned something new, tasted different foods, have a different experience. It’ll be hard somedays and fun other days. I’m going to miss my good friends and awesome family. I think in the long run, it’s going to be awesome.

Tomorrow may be a different story, but tonight I am excited to see what the Arch City has coming my way. I just know it has to be something good!

🙂

2 thoughts on “Soon-to-be Arch City Girl

Leave a Reply

