Panko Crusted Pork Chops

Today is my little yorkie Turbo’s birthday. He is no longer with us, but I miss him everyday still. I was going to write a long post about him and how much he means to me, but I think I’m going to save that post for my private journal. Plus, I’ve been sharing pictures and posting on Facebook yesterday and today about how special he is to me. He will always be in my heart.

So, today I’m going to go over the recipe for Panko Crusted Pork Chops.

What You Need: 

  • I used 4 boneless pork chops, altogether they only weighed a little less than a pound so they were pretty thin.
  • 1 cup Panko Bread Crumbs
  • 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese
  • 1 heaping tablespoon chopped parsley
  • 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • salt
  • pepper
  • Olive oil or Canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Preheat oven to 350°

I used a tenderizer and pounded the pork chops so they would be a little flatter. Then, season them with salt and pepper.

Melt butter and coat the bottom of the baking dish(es, I had to use two 13×9 ). Set aside.

Mix together panko crumbs, Parmesan cheese, and parsley in one dish, put flour in another, and the beaten eggs in another. Line them up so that the flour is first, then egg, and last the panko mixture. Heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil or canola oil in skillet on medium-high heat (I did this two pork chops at a time). Dredge the pork chops through the flour, then the eggs, then the panko mixture making sure the panko mixture is covering the pork chops. Then add pork chops to skillet and allow to cook until the outside is a crispy golden brown. Make sure not to get the skillet too hot or the crumbs will burn (I have done this before with a different recipe).

Move pork chops from the skillet into the baking dish(es). Cook pork chops in the oven, uncovered, until they are done. I cooked them for about 10-15 minutes depending on how long they took to brown in the skillet. Allow pork chops to rest about 5-10 minutes before eating to allow juice to back into the meat.

Serve with steamed vegetables, mashed potatoes, baked potatoes or whatever tickles your fancy!

The coating line up

The coating line up

Getting them nice and browned!

Getting them nice and browned!

In the oven from 10-15 minutes!

In the oven from 10-15 minutes!

I cut the fattest one to make sure they were done.

I cut the fattest one to make sure they were done.

Yum, Yum and Done!!! Enjoy :-)

Yum, Yum and Done!!! Enjoy 🙂

Enjoy!!!!

Leave a Reply

