I’m a ‘Cold Weather’ Wimp

So, I haven’t been progressing much on the running front. Let me tell you why….

It’s cold. Yes, this is totally the worst excuse ever. Ever. Most people like running in 40 degree weather. Me? No. I absolutely hate it. My thin southern skin isn’t use to cold for such a prolonged amount of time. I could do a 40 degree day every now and then back home, but every day? It’s just  not for me, at all. I need that crisp 60 degrees. I yearn for it, actually. I have never been so effected by weather before. I want to go outside but then once I get out there I just want to come back in the house and curl up. It’s starting to frustrate me and I can tell the dog feels the same way. Today is the last day of winter and you wouldn’t know it, but at least I can start looking forward to warmer days.

The treadmill is a bore. So, since I haven’t been running outside I have been running on the dreadmill. At first I could handle it. I would close my eyes and think of my beautiful riverside running trail, but it’s starting to really get to me. I don’t know how people do it. Run and look at the same thing for 30 minutes. It nearly makes me go insane. I have been at least running 1-3 miles every other day on the treadmill, but lately I have been running only one. Simply because I get so bored that I’d rather mope around the grocery store just to get some human interaction.

Progress. It’s hard for me to want to train on the treadmill. Not only is it boring but it’s hard to get your pace right. I could sit there and change it constantly but, yuck. I don’t know how fast my body feels like going. Sometimes my body feels like running 7 mins/mile and sometimes it feels like running 11 mins/mile throughout my run. Its not something that I can really detect, when running outside my body just does it.

Once it starts to get warm I will start training again. As of right now, I’ll just stick to my 20 minute 2 miles on the dreadmill.

snow

Lately homesickness has been really bad. I think of things I could/would be doing back home. Walking Molly by the river, going to the farmers market with Dan and Molly at Piedmont every Saturday, cooking lessons with my grandmother, focusing on my career, having lunch with mom on her off days, eating endless amounts of King of Pops, running outside, drinking Sweetwater on a patio, venturing up to the mountains for some boiled peanuts, home grown peaches, tomatoes, and corn. Publix fried Chicken. Sunday night game nights with the family. Hiking Kennesaw mountain. Walking around Atlanta. The food truck park. Newtown (FREE) dog park (I think I speak for Molly on this one too). Braves opening day (I can’t imagine how sad I am going to be come GATech football season). I could probably go on and on and on and I’m sure I will in my head. I just wish it hasn’t been so hard on me. Daniel seems to be getting along just fine. I just kinda feel alone in it a little bit. I just hope that it warms up soon so that I’ll be somewhat cured from missing home so much.

Leave a Reply

