Easy Chicken Parmesan!

Today is a lovely day to write. I woke up to snow on the ground at the end of MARCH which is a totally new thing for me. I don’t exactly know how I feel about it. It’s so pretty that it’s hard to hate it, but I would LOVE a bikini by the pool/a swim in the river. We have had an amazing weekend. We actually went to our first “official” Crossfit class yesterday and I am paying for it today. I have decided that a 2k row, 50 push ups, and 100 sit ups are TOUGH. It took me over 20 minutes to complete it. I felt like a sissy. All in good time, I suppose. That’s the beauty of the Crossfit community, they push and encourage and I am happy for that because I am going to need a lot of that. Afterwards we felt like we deserved to have some fun at Baconfest yesterday and it was actually a nice day to be out and about (I’m turning Midwestern… 50 degrees is NICE ??…lah). The sun was out and I didn’t have to wear gloves… that’s all that really mattered. Today we plan on making breakfast. I was going to make biscuits this morning when I realized we were out of Crisco… so, pancakes it is I guess. It’s going to snow all day so we planned a cozy day in with maybe some time out in the snow. Now, for the recipe. But first:

This is what it looks like out my window right now.

snows

I am usually excellent about taking pictures while cooking but I was multitasking with some other things and before I knew it, the meal was done! So, sorry for the lack of visuals but it is a pretty self explanatory recipe and it is SO DELICIOUS. I even said “mmm” to my own cooking which I think is a huge deal because I am my biggest critic. Husband got this recipe off of BigOven (an App for recipes) and I am so glad he did! If you haven’t checked out the App yet, you need to! They have some pretty awesome recipes.

THINGS YOU NEED:

  • 4 Chicken Breasts halved (I only make it with 2 Chicken Breasts and I didn’t halve them, I used the same measurements and it came out perfectly – with extra sauce for the side of spaghetti)
  • 1 large egg lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 and 3/4 cups of spaghetti sauce
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese (used however much I wanted but this is a good baseline same with the Parm cheese)
  • 1 tablespoon grate Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Get The Cooking Party Started!!!

If you have read my over recipe’s, you know what to do. Turn on your favorite Pandora station/playlist and get ready to shake it while you make it! ***As usual music suggestions at the bottom

With meat mallet or rolling pin flatten chicken breasts out to 1/4 inch. Recipe suggests putting chicken between two sheets of heavy duty plastic wrap so you don’t get chicken everywhere.

Melt butter in large skillet  on medium/high heat.

Put egg in one bowl and breadcrumbs in another, dredge chicken through beaten egg and then cover with breadcrumbs.

Cook chicken until browned on both sides.

Spoon spaghetti sauce over chicken and bring to a boil. Then cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 10 minutes.

Sprinkle with cheeses and parsley. Cover and simmer for another 5 minutes (or until cheeses melt).

Pair with a lovely side salad or spaghetti! Or both! The end result is DELICIOUS.

chickenparm

***For your listening/cooking pleasure today we have: Frank Sinatra – Come Fly With Me: to get you in Italian/swing mode. His voice is also heavenly.

2 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Parmesan!

  1. James and I area actually starting P90X/Insanity tomorrow! We are too intimidated by Crossfit right now 😉 And I’m so glad I’m not the only one that “shakes it” while cooking! haha

    • Haha! Crossfit is scary, but you leave feeling awesome (after you get over the initial nausea). It’s done so much for my body already (I have taken a before picture and I do an ‘after’ picture every week) and Daniel has incoming muscles?! He’s really excited about it. I was so, so intimidated but I just did it and I’m so glad I did. Tell me how P90X/Insanity goes! I haven’t tried it!

Leave a Reply

