First Race of the Year!

It has been so long since my last post -too long- really. There have been some exciting things going on! I got a job and even though it is temporary, it has been nice to be back in the working world. I do miss blogging though! I just haven’t quite had the time lately. We have been doing Crossfit 3 times a week and trying to run on our “off” days and I have done wonderfully at keeping up the house/making dinner and having it nice most of the time (with the help of Husband, of course). Sunday is my only day to sleep in so usually I fully embrace it when it rolls around. Except for last Sunday…
We ran our first race of the year last Sunday and I am so glad we picked this one! Being the first people at the St. Louis Zoo was really cool. We didn’t have to fight to the front to get a good look at the Gorilla’s, Sea Lions, Tigers, Lions etc. It was lovely. We didn’t get to spend much time there after the race though, so we are definitely going back ASAP.
The race itself was awesome. There were over 2000 participants! The track was a little hillier than I am use to but I feel like I rocked that race to the best of my ability. I did my first mile in 7:52 (which still isn’t my personal best mile, but it was impressive -to me- nonetheless), but then the hills began in the 2nd mile and my pace dropped to an 8:30. Still, I ended up running the 5k in 26:11 and placing 12th out of 175 women in my age group (25-29). I was extremely proud of myself. I still am. For some reason though, it was tough. The hills plus the humidity definitely gave me a challenge. There was a point in my run where I could feel myself getting tired but I kept pushing. Once I see the finish line, I usually speed up, but this time was different I WAS TIRED so I cruised my way through and ran straight for some water. The post-festivities were a blast. They had a breakfast out for us with LOTS of chocolate milk (which was AWESOME for refuel). They also had a fire hydrant spraying water out like a sprinkler and I ran through it like a 5 year old child. It felt so good. It had been almost 8 months since my last race and I was ready for this one. We had such a good time and running with my husband is my favorite. Pushing each other and believing in each other is one of the best things about working out as a couple. I don’t know when our next race will be but I am excited to try and set some new goals and push myself a little harder next time.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Happy Memorial Day! We’ve had a pretty awesome weekend! We had our first visitors up to St. Louis! It was so much fun! We started with the tour at Budweiser, hung out at Laclede’s Landing, listened to music at Oyster Bar, relaxed at the pool, had drinks on the roof top at Moonrise hotel, and had an amazing fancy Italian dinner at Gian Tony’s. Our weekend was super successful. I am so not ready to go to work tomorrow! I hope you had a wonderful weekend with friends/loved ones. Hold each other tight because we have people out there sacrificing for our safety and freedom. Have a wonderful Tuesday tomorrow!
One thought on “First Race of the Year!

Leave a Reply

