Work It Out

I haven’t blogged in nearly a month because I am SO BUSY! Weird, right? I’m not use to having a life. As I am sure most of you already heard, I accepted a full time position as an HR Coordinator at the company I was temping for. The corporate world is pretty sweet. The first week was crazy but I am finally getting into my own groove of it all. Ya’ll are going to think I am crazy but I have not run in almost 10 days. 10 DAYS. I have hit running droughts before but I just hate that is it happening right now! Between starting a new job and Crossfit I have been a one woman circus. I am going to try and turn that around this week. While I have not been running, I have been FAR from lazy. Monday, Wednesday, and Saturdays are Crossfit days and this last Tuesday I joined my co-workers in a 45 minute Tabata WOD at lunch. One of the girls that I work with is a certified trainer so they work out at lunch Mon-Thurs. So, this was my first Tabata WOD and oh my gosh I was sore, sore, sore in all the right places! I actually think I am still sore just from the Tabata! I am so excited that I now have not only Daniel to motivate me, but now coworkers to motivate me. As for Tabata, well, I have a feeling we will get along just fine. I’ll post an example of a no equipment Tabata WOD (but at work we have a gym so, I am just all sorts of spoiled with equipment).

tabata

Try it out! Let me know how it goes!

As for Crossfit. I have heard some backlash recently. I have heard its dangerous, what are you training for, it’s not really that great of a workout. etc. etc.

Let me just step back for a minute and squash some of these myths.

“Crossfit is dangerous”

-Absolutely it is. Anytime you are lifting ANYTHING be it moving a couch, pushing a car, lifting a bar bell it can be dangerous… especially if you don’t have proper form. What Crossfit has taught me is unbelievable. I have been lifting objects incorrectly my whole life. My Box [aka gym] spent 9 whole 1 hour classes on teaching us proper form with weightless PVC Pipes on how to squat, push press, deadlift, etc. before throwing us into lifting. However, just like with any sport you could mess up and hurt yourself, or push yourself too hard. The thing I love about Crossfit (or at least in my box) is that everything can be scaled to meet your needs. You are NOT required to start off deadlifting 200 lbs. You always go for how your body feels and if you are not feeling well, DO NOT go to the gym. Wait it out.

“So, What are you training for?

I mean this in the most sincere way: Life. Saturday our WOD included pushing a car in neutral for 4 rounds of about 75 meters. The first 3 rounds was with a partner so I picked Husband because if we were ever in a situation where we needed to push a car out of the road, he will most likely be with me. For those days that he is not with me…. We did the last round pushing the car by ourselves and I ROCKED it. These things that we are doing/learning apply to life and so, lifting a 40 lb bag of dog food up 3 flights of stairs is no big deal to me anymore. I have also dropped a pants size since I started Crossfit. Are YOU ready for the Zombie Apocalypse?

zombies

“It’s not really a good workout”

I beg your pardon? Well, if you’ve never done high intense training for 15 minutes straight, I don’t even need your opinion on the matter. Weekdays have usually a high intensity 6ish minute warm up, then we have about 30ish minutes to get some strength training in, and THEN we do a WOD. It’s not like we do a 15 minute work out and then head home. On Saturdays we do what I have been calling a Monster WOD. Which is usually between a 30-50 minute WOD from hell. Example from last Saturday’s WOD:

wodhell

The prescribed weight is just a ballpark of what you could either work your way up to or bypass. I have been using 30lb kettlebells because it’s not a sprint its a marathon and I will get to 35 soon enough.

So, Crossfit is really up to YOU and how YOU decided to push yourself and when YOU decide to back off a little and take a step back.

What have you learned about Crossfit? What negative things have you heard?

Happy Lifting!

carpush

 

Leave a Reply

