Conquering A Negative Mind.

Since ya’ll have taken this Crossfit journey with me I thought I would update you on a few recent small, personal milestones. When I first started Crossfit I couldn’t lift a barbell over my head much less, 20 pounds. I was not strong at all. Still, I’m not hitting an RX or lifting tons of weight but I am starting to be able lift more, and more, and more and my mind is finally grasping the concept that I can do more, that I am stronger.

Tuesday I did a 7 minute warm up with just the barbell:

3 deadlifts, 1 hang clean, 3 push presses

Every 60 seconds.

I was terrified of the push press because last I checked my 3 rep max was a measly 53 pounds. Thank goodness I made it through with a naked barbell, but I actually felt like I cheated myself because to be honest I was just being a wimp too cautious.

Thursday rolls around and I see that we are going to do the same warm up. So, I stop being a wuss too cautious and weighted my bar with 20 pounds (53 altogether, MY PREVIOUS 3 REP MAX).

IT FELT SO GOOD and quite honestly I felt like a beast.

I think I have finally conquered my Push Press fear and the negativity that was looming behind it. Sometimes, it seems that you actually have to have that “just do it” mentality. So, I did. Thursday ended up being a pretty big day for me. I graduated 15 lb dumbbells to 20 lb dumbbells, I learned how to Skin The Cat (no, not actually skinning a cat… that is so not right) and I dead lifted my own weight (I did not PR but I took it slow and got to a good point). Also a couple of weeks ago I did my first handstand push up. I can do two without wanted to pass out from being upside down. I find that is a pretty big deal for me.

So, I’m normally not one to take a bazillion pictures of myself doing this stuff, but I got a little obsessive and proud the last few weeks so… here they are.

Image

Image

image (2)

I have really been trying to keep Husband and I active. It is so easy to come home from work and sit on the couch (if we don’t have Crossfit that night). The last few weeks have been like this. We come home and either go to the pool or sit on the couch. So, after this lovely vacation week I am really going to start focusing on running again. I really miss it. Yesterday, I ran my first straight 5k in 4 weeks. 4 WEEKS. That is pretty horrible, so my goal after we get back from Georgia is to get back into running (I know, I know it’s not the first time I’ve posted about my lack of running). In other fitness news… Yesterday before our run, Husband had a Toastmasters event so I took it upon myself to sign up for some Free Yoga under the Arch.

WOW.

I loved it. It was so wonderful because The Arch is pretty much my favorite thing about St. Louis. Getting a good morning stretch with my favorite thing about this city was just what I needed. It gave me a moment to realize that even though I am extremely homesick and all I really want to do is go home, I still love it here too. That I have wonderful friends here, a wonderful life here, and an amazing husband to share it with. I have so much to be thankful for.

My wonderful friend Alisha snapped this of me without my knowledge. As usual I am admiring the Arch.

Image

Have A Lovely Week and a Safe 4th of July! I AM GOING HOME!!!!!!!

4 thoughts on “Conquering A Negative Mind.

Leave a Reply

