Luau’s and Mexican Train

So, I am one of those people who loves to hang out with my parents. Mainly because my parents are probably the coolest people I know. When I lived back home I would choose to hang out with them on some weekends. Whether it was a family game night, a special occasion (pretty much any holiday/birthday), or just a bonfire out back, hanging out with my parents always won over any other invitation we would receive. This is what I miss most about home. Family. Swimming, sitting on the back deck, playing games, roasting marshmallows on a bonfire. We would make any excuse for my parents to host a get together. One of my favorite family traditions is BYOP that I discussed hereΒ from our 2011 BYOP.

I am planning on making a special trip home to attend my favorite Halloween family tradition, much like I did for our Cash Family July 4th tradition.

I could have stayed here in St. Louis for the Fourth of July but, again, family tradition won out. My parents always host a family get together filled with BBQing, peach ice cream, swimming, fireworks, and fun. This year it was Luau themed. I was not about to miss this. Unfortunately, the weather did not work in our favor. It rained the entire time we were home. So, to make the best of it, the men folk set up a pop-up tent outside and we sat under it and watched the rain come down, drinking, eating, and talking, and still enjoying every moment we had together. A couple of nights we made time to play games. Mom and Dad taught Daniel and I how to play Mexican Train and I have been dying to play ever since we made our way back to St. Louis. I do miss my family so much. I can’t wait to go back home for a visit. I wish I knew exactly when that would be.

Some photos from our trip home:

Come on in!!!

Come on in!!!

Red, White, and Blue Sangria!

Red, White, and Blue Sangria!

Glowing Balloons.

Glowing Balloons.

Mmmm Boiled Peanuts <3

Mmmm Boiled Peanuts ❀

I brought some home :-)

I brought some home πŸ™‚

In our home city.

In our home city.

 

This was a game of Chicken Feet. We later learned how to play Mexican Train.

This was a game of Chicken Feet. We later learned how to play Mexican Train.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

