Ditching the Scale

When I first started Crossfit I was in ok shape, not strong at all but as a runner and a yoga enthusiast I was pretty happy with my weight.

My weight. I was always obsessed about a number on the scale.  Would it be a bad day, a good day, would it inspire me to go run an extra mile that day, would I maybe not indulge in an Iced latte from Starbucks? I weighed myself every morning, and that can be exhausting! I believe that a lot of women are obsessed over this number. That somehow this number defines us, but I think we’re getting it all wrong and here is why.

shutterstock_9157270

The scale has become something so unimportant to me. I was curious and I just learned today that I have gained 6 pounds since I started Crossfit. I didn’t cringe, I didn’t pinch the fat off of unwanted places and grimace but I looked in the mirror and smiled at myself. Because I can see the faint lines of Abs starting to form, my butt is firmer, my arms and shoulders are full of muscle, my legs no longer bear cellulite when I am sitting down in shorts.

This is why the scale is a liar. It’s not what the number reads but what you feel in yourself. Do not let the scale judge you, the scale is not going to change you, YOU have to change you.

So here is my advice my fellow obsessed scale readers: How do you feel? Forget the number.

If you do not feel good in your skin, you have the absolute power to change it.

Go for a run

Join a new gym

Look into personal training

Give Crossfit a try.

It’s all in your hands. Ready. Set. Sweat.

P.S. I did my first kipping pull up yesterday!!!!! Still working on my strict pull up 🙂

pullup

2 thoughts on “Ditching the Scale

Leave a Reply

