5 Things I Learned in 5 Days about the Paleo Diet

Good morning fellow simple-carb cutters and those striving to be a part of the club!

As you may know, I am on Day 6 of the Lurong Paleo Challenge. Day 5 was a little better than Day 4, but I did cheat. We went out to a bar that has ONLY BEER last night. It’s a really awesome place, if you are not me on this diet. So, I cheated and had a brewski with one of my favorite people in STL. Big whoop. I did manage to not eat and only salivate a little when some of my friends ordered pizza and brought it over from a nearby pizza place. Anyway, I just thought I would report on how I am doing. So, I have learned 5 things about going Paleo in the last 5 days. Here goes…

1. EXPECT TO SPEND A LOT OF MONEY/TIME ON FOOD

Everyone jokes about the prices at Whole Foods, but they are that way for a reason. There is nothing like sinking my teeth into a steak that was most likely happily grazing in a pasture at some point of its life. This is my favorite thing about Paleo. Happy meat makes for a happy me! Fresh fruits and veggies are expensive no matter where you go. Paleo also takes a lot of time and meal planning. The fast food market is making tons of money off of the “American Dream” lifestyle because, lets face it, the majority of Americans are busy people. We don’t have time to spend 2 hours prepping and cooking a meal anymore. And as feminist as I can be, no one is at home doing this anymore. We’re all slaves to corporate America.

2. TWO WORDS: SUGAR DETOX

I am not even going to try to lie to you. This SUCKS. I have been grumpy, irritated, and headache ridden for the last 5 days. My workout was a joke on Thursday. I felt like a zombie pretty much all week. But wait! It gets better! (they say) Well, I let you know when that happens.

3. SOCIAL LIFE? HA!

So, I went to a birthday party last night for a friend like I mentioned. Paleo is really not that exciting when everyone around you is hammering down beers and eating pizza. So, I gave in and joined the fun by sipping a brew. I’m glad I did. Quality of life was starting to get low. Also, forget eating out at restaurants, unless they are willing to pretty much fashion a whole plate dedicated to what you want. (P.S. BYODresssing, most of the salad dressings in restaurants have sugar in them). Also, bring snacks EVERYWHERE you go to avoid temptation.

4. BREAKFAST IS THE EASIEST MEAL TO PLAN/MAKE AND FUN TOO!

This morning I took to the kitchen (Husband has been making all of the meals until this morning, my turn). I made sweet potato home fries, eggs over medium, bacon, and sliced up half an apple. It was SO GOOD. Eggs are a Paleo staple, I even have a few boiled and ready to eat for a quick snack. So, this makes breakfast easy and fun. Daniel made (basically) Huevos Rancheros with homemade salsa, heated up and reduced, then crack a couple eggs in the salsa, cook covered, and eat away! So delicious. Breakfast is fun and easy. Really learn to plan your lunches.

Image

5. BUT YOU CAN GATHER WHEAT…?

Trust me, you will be tortured with statements like “You can gather corn, peanuts, wheat… etc etc so you should be able to eat that…blah blah blah). Even I don’t really know the full on answer to these questions, besides the fact that wheat and sugar cause inflammation. Paleo is an anti-inflammatory diet, who really knows what cavemen ate? They could have fashioned the very first candy bar for all we know. I’m just following the rules, people.

So there they are y’all. 5 things I have learned about going Paleo. Here is hoping Day 6 is kind to me!

What have you learned about the Paleo Diet?

Do you allow a “cheat day” or “Cheat meal”?

2 thoughts on “5 Things I Learned in 5 Days about the Paleo Diet

  1. It gets better I promise. See if y’all can find the time to make all your lunches and dinners for the entire week or half the week on any one or two days. Makes a huge difference and makes it much easier. You’ll enjoy the results of this challenge before you know it.

Leave a Reply

