Snow and Squat-a-thon January!

Hello Blogosphere!

The last few days have been eventful, so let me fill you in!

In my first post of 2014 I failed to mention that Husband and I are doing a squat-a-thon challenge this month!

I looks a little something like this (We are squatting at the Advanced level):

We have only missed one day, yesterday, due to the fact that both of us have caught a bug! It has almost been a week since my last Crossfit class due to the snow and now being sick! I’m really missing my workouts so we ended up blasting through the 40 squats and 7 burpees tonight even through our sickness. I look forward to those 50 burpees…

I also failed to mention that Husband competed for the first time in a Crossfit Partner Throwdown last Saturday. Yes, they were boy and girl teams. Yes, I chicken out and I REGRET BEING A CHICKEN but I loved watching he and his team mate kill those WOD’s. I was so proud of them.

After I watched Crossfit from 9am-2pm I was feeling a pretty lazy so I decided to take my first run of the New Year! It was a slightly chilly 42 degrees but I actually didn’t mind it, because I was running this route for the first time. I feel like running on a new route for the first time always make running more exciting. However, it was irritating because my phone died in the middle of my run and didn’t track the entire 3 miles I did… Overall, I felt it was a pretty good run to start the New Year, especially since I haven’t run since October!

Then all day Sunday, it snowed and we finally got our first BIG snow at our house. I also learned that snow is pretty and everything, but it is a giant pain in the rear. Did I also mention that with the windchill it was -30 degrees? Yeah, I used a vacation day and decided not to leave my house on Monday.

This is looking up our walkway after Husband shoveled it.

Image

It was about 9 inches in shallow areas and a foot of snow in others!

Image

Lets talk a little bit more about why cold/snow sucks and why Crossfit is amazing (Yes, they coincide). Due to this lovely weather we’ve been having, the battery in my car went *kerplunk* and died yesterday morning while I was trying to get my car warmed up before my icy drive to work. Unfortunately, my car was parked behind Husband’s car in the driveway. Which meant that in order for me to get to work, we had to move my car. By move my car, I mean Husband and I had to push my car over ice and snow in the -5 degree freezing cold.

-5 DEGREES Y’ALL. I’ve never seen that temperature IN MY LIFE…. and this -5 degrees did not include the windchill.

While me and husband were out in the freezing cold trying to force my car over snow mounds, it took me back to the last time I was pushing a car, which was actually during a Crossfit class. It was then I realized my true appreciation for Crossfit. I remember that day at class vividly and me thinking “Oh my gosh, I can’t push a car. I don’t know how I am going to do this.”

Never say can’t, my friends. Because I did push the car, at Crossfit, and then again in a real life situation. Moral of the story – Keep a can-do attitude and go to Crossfit more.

Anyway, Husband drove me to work and then luckily he was able to stay home and take care of our little car situation and everything is thankfully back up and running smoothly. I don’t know when I will be back up and running smoothly again. I hope it’s soon, because being sick is hindering my muscle development.

Happy Hump Day y’all!

2 thoughts on “Snow and Squat-a-thon January!

Leave a Reply

