How Crossfit Changed Me

About a year ago I walked into The Box. I can imagine my deer in headlights look when I opened the heavy doors to the inside of a simple, yet somewhat terrifying view. Weight racks lined the edge of one side of the room and pull up racks lined the other. Rings and ropes hung from the ceiling and rows of ergs sat upright and ready for torture. Weightlifting was never really my thing. The weight rooms of the gyms in college and high school were always filled with muscled up dudes grunting and lifting, walking around sipping thick beverages that previously resembled a chalk like substance before added to water. The thought of it made me cringe. I never went to the weight rooms. Way too much testosterone for little me. Most days I’d jump on an elliptical for 30 minutes and then bolt through the weights and sweaty men to the door.

A year ago my perception changed completely. Not just of people who lift weights but more importantly, the perception of myself.

Crossfit has changed my life in more ways than just becoming stronger. My confidence level is surprising. My boss told me about 2 weeks ago that I seemed “comfortable in my own skin”. That’s when I realized that I don’t look in the mirror and dislike what I see anymore. Now I see beauty, I see someone who walks with confidence. I know that I am trying to be stronger and on my way to becoming stronger I began to love myself. I have become stronger not only on the outside, but also on the inside. Days of pinching my belly fat feeling disgusted and obsessing over the way “back fat” hangs over a tight tank top has diminished. I noticed a picture of me recently where I didn’t even use the signature “skinny arm” photo pose… which I have adopted and owned for the last few years.

Image

I have also managed to meet some of the most wonderful, uplifting people I have ever met. These people cheer you on and root for you every class. They cheer for you inside the gym and outside of the gym. The Crossfit community will amaze you. We come together and support, cheer, and help each other. I think that was apparent in the recent results of the Kevin Ogar fundraiser in which the Crossfit community raised almost $350,000 (so far) to help cover medical bills. We are no joke when it comes to supporting each other, whether it be a PR, a life event, an injury etc. we know how to put together some earth shattering support.

Image

Crossfit has it’s haters, but in my opinion it is just misunderstood. It has changed my life for the better, for me and for most people who give it a try.

What do you love about Crossfit?

One thought on “How Crossfit Changed Me

Leave a Reply

